Work Flow & Narrative

After doing the test editing I started to work on the audio. I thought, as I didn’t have a storyboard at the beginning I need to create that first. Hence why, I need to cut all the interviews and select the interesting parts.

To do that with a system I first thought about creating a folder for each interviewee and saving each clip that I cut calling it “whatevertheytalkaboutinthatclip” in the according folder. So let’s say I’m cutting John’s interview, I would then open the whole interview from his folder and then cut a section that I find interesting with him talking about his father doing the album for example and Save As “johns_father_creating_album.wav” and so on… In the end I would have three folders for each interviewee with all clips saved and titled with the topic they talk about. Those three I could then import into a new project and start putting the clips together.
That would have meant a lot of exporting though, time I don’t really have.

So I came up with a better system!

I imported all three original interviews into one new project. I gave each person their own colour so I knew which clip belonged to whom (with three people that’s quite easy and it definitely saved me from a lot of confusion in the next steps).
From there I started cutting all bits from Track 1 and dragged them down to Track 2, titling them with what they were talking about in the clip (roughly).

screenshot2 Titled clips

This was still very time consuming as I had 1:45h of interview footage but at least I didn’t need to export anything. I could re-open my session and continue working easily too.

screenshot Overview

Then I deleted all of Track 1 (everything I didn’t need, mainly my own voice or unnecessary things) and put all of Track 2 onto Track 1 to start again from there.

screenshot3 Coloured clips and storyline underneath

Now I had many many small clips all titled and coloured. From here I started creating a “storyboard”. I go by ear, whatever sounded best as a start I tried out and “felt” how it sounds. I want to start straight with the interviewee voice, there will be no narrator. I quite like if what they say just works on the listener without hearing someone asking specific questions and them responding. I also thought it would be definitely too boring to divide it into three parts with each person talking (showing the specific visuals for each of them).
That’s why I rather thought about how my three interviewees could “interact” and because I asked them all the same questions I thought I could “puzzle” them together talking a bit about each topic, almost as if they were sitting around a table talking. It will become clear through their reactions and things they mention that they are responding to the same question and this way I can move from one topic to the other quite smoothly.

After listening to all the clips I decided that starting with the description of the black and white photograph would be an interesting beginning. Especially Thea’s voice works very well and also what she says gives a good introduction, as it is not too clear but still gives you a sense of what it might be about. Then Judy and John get more specific about their photograph being taken and it becomes clear that they are talking about their memory.

Roughly I will still divide the video into two parts, the b/w and the selfie, the past and the present.
I thought about it and also about mixing the two but I think it works best this way, also in terms of visuals and cutting. I envision the first part to be a bit slower in cuts, smoother, softer as it is connected to memory and the second part with a few faster cuts, also inserting the own selfies they took, like a camera snapshot and their reactions and thoughts about it, but instead of long winding sentences they will appear shorter and faster one after another. That’s the rough idea which I then still need to try out and see how it works.

I want to have the audio done by Thursday evening. I will use the three hours in the morning to work further on the narrative, then I will edit and polish the audio once I have the final clip, which means taking out background noise, any other disruptions, making sure all sections link smoothly together, fade in/out etc.

Leave a Reply

