ASSETS

These are my assets for my project:

Audio:

My total audio from the day with Paul is 3h28min, I have cut this down to only his interview replies which is an hour long and the audio which captures the “kitchen tour” as well as the sounds of all the devices that are being explained to me. I decided to upload the full version and not just snippets for the submission because this way I can also discuss it with Annie and she can listen back to some of the parts as well. Uploading only a few snippets means a lot of what was said remains only accessible on my computer and if I wan’t Annie to listen back to something this way I can quickly skip to it. Because there is so much audio content I have to now work further on the concept to see which parts I want to use and which are relevant depending on the narrative I create. I am aware that I won’t be able to cover all the topics and the reason I chose to have quite a broad and varied interview is because I didn’t know EXACTLY what I wanted to hear from Paul in order to fit it into the narrative. I much rather have him throw many things at me from which I can then select. Of course all these things mainly revolve around his blindness, it is evident that my piece will touch upon living as a blind person in a visual world, the adaptations one has to make and the way blindness shapes a different perception of the world.

Bildschirmfoto 2015-03-21 um 18.04.44

Full Interview

Tools and Devices

 

Additionally I have recorded three little audio bits – a playground (for Paul’s childhood descriptions), walking in the woods on uneven ground and the sound of the forest with the birds singing.

 

Video:

The entire interview was filmed on a JVC, this is just a short clip to show how it looks like.

For my descriptions it is important to have the interview filmed so I can describe Paul’s facial expressions when he tells me things (if he’s laughing, looking worried etc.) and also to see how he uses his devices.

Photos:

These are the photos of the things that I might describe visually, to have a better memory of it it was important to capture them.

IMG_3114IMG_3432

The House
IMG_3068
IMG_3071

The Bedside Clock

IMG_3072  The Tactile WatchIMG_3074    IMG_3080 IMG_3082 IMG_3081

Paintings

IMG_3104i

The Dining Room

IMG_3084

The Living Room

IMG_3401

Perkins BraillerIMG_3112Audio Recorder
IMG_3108 IMG_3107

Spanish Braille Text BookIMG_3407 IMG_3408 IMG_3409

Spices tagged with Braille

IMG_3410

Microwave


IMG_3099i

KitchenIMG_3426 IMG_3423

Penfriend

IMG_3414

Water MeasurerIMG_3418 IMG_3419

Braille and Tactile Switches on Washing Machine and Stove

IMG_3077

Isla (with her favourite blanket)IMG_3079Elsie (with her favourite toy)

Leave a Reply

